Ektro Records
  Top » Catalog » 12" » Jukka Hauru / Nono Söderberg: Pop-Liisa 5 LP (LIMITED) My Account  |  Cart Contents  |  Checkout   
10" (4)
12" (708)
3" (1)
7" (214)
8" (2)
Blu-ray (3)
Books/Zines (7)
Cassettes (37)
KANTO clothing (6)
Punk/Post-Punk/Noise Rock (355)
RUTON MUSIC releases (15)
Second hand/Slightly damaged (2)
TAMA clothing (8)
DVD (12)
EKTRO releases (91)
FULL CONTACT releases (126)
SUPER METSÄ releases (3)
Experimental/Psych/Proge/jazz (851)
Heavy/Black/Death/Grind (854)
Shirts (61)
Quick Find
Use keywords to find the product you are looking for.
Advanced Search
Shipping & Payments
Jukka Hauru / Nono Söderberg: Pop-Liisa 5 LP (LIMITED)
[Svart Records]

-limited gray vinyl (with poster)

The Pop-Liisa and Jazz-Liisa broadcast session series presents previously unreleased and forgotten gems from the biggest names of Finnish prog and jazz of the 1970's

Never bootlegged and known up until now only to a few faithful servants (and largely thought to have been lost for ever), these sessions offer a hitherto unrivalled look into the state of Finnish jazz and progressive rock between the years 1972-1977. Imagine if the sessions recorded by John Peel had only recently been discovered, and you get an idea of the cultural weight of what is being brought into the light of day here.

Originally recorded as broadcasts by YLE (the national radio service Yleisradio, ”the Finnish BBC”), the thirty-four Liisankatu sessions are a genuine who's who of Finnish prog and jazz. Interestingly, anyone with even basic knowledge of the era's biggest bands will recognize familiar names at play within these obscure bands.

As such, these sessions provide the missing link between jazz and prog, explaining through spirited performances - and largely unknown collaborations - the instrumental prowess and dexterity of these players and bands. What's best, these sessions show these exceptional bands playing for the moment in front of a hundred strong studio audience, not weighed down by the tedium of studio recording, and thus somehow miraculously managing to capture the best of both worlds: studio performances in front of a live audience.


Live at Liisankatu Studios, Helsinki. Live Broadcast on Channel Two, Wednesday, December 15th, 1976, 8 pm to 8.40 pm. Produced by YLE. Hosted by Jake Nyman.

A1. GÜNTHER ANGST, parts 1–6 (17:06)

Music by Jukka Hauru

JUKKA HAURU – electric guitar
TAPANI TAMMINEN – double bass
ARI VALTONEN – percussion



Live at Liisankatu Studios, Helsinki. Live Broadcast on Channel Two, Wednesday, December 15th, 1976, 8 pm to 8.40 pm. Produced by YLE. Hosted by Jake Nyman.

B1. TIDE (8:24)
Music by Nono Söderberg

B2. SEAGULL (10:27)
Music by Nono Söderberg

REIJO "TAKKU" YLINEN – soprano saxophone
ESA KOTILAINEN – Moog synthesizer, Hohner clavinet (B1), string synthesizer (B2), Fender Rhodes electric piano (B2)
NONO SÖDERBERG – electric guitar
HARRI MERILAHTI – electric bass
ESA ”NÄTSI” ROSWALL – congas, percussion (B1)

This product was added to our catalog on Monday 12 September, 2016.
Shopping Cart more
0 items
What's New? more
Tomutonttu: Kevätjuhla LP
Tomutonttu: Kevätjuhla LP

Copyright © 2018 Ektro Records
Powered by osCommerce

Ektro Records / J. Lehtisalo
Otavankatu 15B24, 28100 PORI, FINLAND