Ektro Records
  Top » Catalog » 12" » Jupu Group: Jazz-Liisa 5 LP (LIMITED) My Account  |  Cart Contents  |  Checkout   
10" (4)
12" (743)
3" (1)
7" (217)
8" (2)
Blu-ray (3)
Books/Zines (8)
Cassettes (37)
KANTO clothing (5)
Punk/Post-Punk/Noise Rock (368)
RUTON MUSIC releases (17)
Second hand/Slightly damaged (2)
TAMA clothing (8)
DVD (12)
EKTRO releases (88)
FULL CONTACT releases (132)
SUPER METSÄ releases (3)
Experimental/Psych/Proge/jazz (873)
Heavy/Black/Death/Grind (872)
Shirts (66)
Quick Find
Use keywords to find the product you are looking for.
Advanced Search
Shipping & Payments
Privacy Notice
Jupu Group: Jazz-Liisa 5 LP (LIMITED)
[Svart Records]

-limited green vinyl (with poster)

The Pop-Liisa and Jazz-Liisa broadcast session series presents previously unreleased and forgotten gems from the biggest names of Finnish prog and jazz of the 1970's

Never bootlegged and known up until now only to a few faithful servants (and largely thought to have been lost for ever), these sessions offer a hitherto unrivalled look into the state of Finnish jazz and progressive rock between the years 1972-1977. Imagine if the sessions recorded by John Peel had only recently been discovered, and you get an idea of the cultural weight of what is being brought into the light of day here.

Originally recorded as broadcasts by YLE (the national radio service Yleisradio, ”the Finnish BBC”), the thirty-four Liisankatu sessions are a genuine who's who of Finnish prog and jazz. Interestingly, anyone with even basic knowledge of the era's biggest bands will recognize familiar names at play within these obscure bands.

As such, these sessions provide the missing link between jazz and prog, explaining through spirited performances - and largely unknown collaborations - the instrumental prowess and dexterity of these players and bands. What's best, these sessions show these exceptional bands playing for the moment in front of a hundred strong studio audience, not weighed down by the tedium of studio recording, and thus somehow miraculously managing to capture the best of both worlds: studio performances in front of a live audience.


Live at Liisankatu Studios, Helsinki. Live Broadcast on Channel Two, Wednesday, October 2nd, 1974, 8 pm to 8.40 pm. Produced by YLE. Hosted by Matti Poijärvi.

A1. TASOT (4:29)

Music by Juhani Poutanen

Solo: Poutanen – violin

A2. AHMOO (10:48)

Music by Juhani Poutanen

Solos: Sorvali – drums & percussion, Linkola – piano


Music by Juhani Poutanen

Solos: Louhivuori – electric guitar, Hanski – electric bass, Kukko – soprano saxophone

B1. CYBELE (11:08)

Music by Sakari Kukko

Solos: Kukko – soprano saxophone, Poutanen – violin, Linkola – electric piano, Kukko – flute

B2. LOKKI (7:39)

Music by Juhani Poutanen

Solos: Linkola – electric piano, Kukko – soprano saxophone

SAKARI KUKKO – soprano saxophone (A1, A3, B1, B2), flute (A2, B1), talking drum (A2)
JUKKA LINKOLA – Fender Rhodes electric piano (A1, A3, B1, B2), piano (A2), organ (A2)
JANNE LOUHIVUORI – electric guitar
ILKKA HANSKI – electric bass (A1, A3, B2), double bass (A2, B1)
UPI SORVALI – drums, percussion, bird whistle (B1)

This product was added to our catalog on Monday 12 September, 2016.
Shopping Cart more
0 items
What's New? more
Ihan: III LP
Ihan: III LP

Copyright © 2018 Ektro Records
Powered by osCommerce

Ektro Records / J. Lehtisalo
Otavankatu 15B24, 28100 PORI, FINLAND